TINA: Live (Tour)

World Tour (1984)

Tina Turner - World Tour 1984

While Tina was the opening act for Lionel Richie’s North American concert tour, her new single What's Love Got To Do With It was released to promote her upcoming album Private Dancer. Because of the success of the single and the album, she continued touring on her own in North America, Australia and South East Asia till the end of 1984, but she fulfilled also a previous contract for some gigs at McDonalds restaurants and did some TV appearances in Europe to promote the album. This tour should not be confused with the Private Dancer Tour in 1985. Beside most songs from the Private Dancer album, Tina performed also three songs from Ike & Tina as well as the two new songs „Let’s Pretend We’re Married“ from Prince and „Legs“ from ZZ Top. A complete concert is available on the bootleg Live In Chicago, which was broadcasted on the radio from the Park West Music Theatre in Chicago on August 17, 1984.

July 18 - September 3: Headlining all over the U.S. and Canada (40 concerts) / September 20 - October 20: Major television in Europe and England / November 15 - December 13: Australian concert tour, appearing in Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide and the Gold Coast (36 concerts) / December 15 - December 25: South East Asian concert tour, appearing in Hong Kong, Bangkok, Manila and Japan 

Tina Turner - World Tour 1984
  1. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
  2. Show Some Respect
  3. Nutbush City Limits
  4. I Might Have Been Queen
  5. River Deep, Mountain High
  6. Better Be Good To Me
  7. Help
  8. What’s Love Got To Do With It
  9. I Can’t Stand The Rain
  10. Private Dancer
  11. Legs
  12. Steel Claw
  13. Let’s Stay Together
  14. Band Introduction
  15. Proud Mary
Tina Turner - World Tour 1984

The 16-page program book is very identically to the previous one from the UK-Tour in February with some additional promotional pictures from her new album Private Dancer. The few live pictures were taken from previous concerts, approximately from 1982 / ’83. It features also some backstage pictures from The Ritz, together with David Bowie and Keith Richards. Most of the biography is about Ike & Tina and her troubles after the separation, but it also treats the story about her current single Let’s Stay Together, the recording of her new album and touring with Lionel Richie.

Tina Turner - World Tour 1984

Kenny Moore: Piano, Vocals / James Ralston: Guitar, Vocals / Bob Feit: Bass Guitar / Alan Clark: Keyboards / Hal Lindes: Guitar, Vocals / Henry Spinetti: Drums

Previous: Lionel Richie (1984)

Back to: Live

Next: Private Dancer Tour (1985)