IKE & TINA: Album (Live)

In Person (1969)

Ike & Tina Turner - In Person - Album

In Person is a live album, recorded at Basin Street West in San Francisco and contains songs performed by The Ikettes and Tina Turner. An edited version of the song Respect was released as a single in France, while Ike & Tina were on tour in Europe. The album was reissued on compact disc in 2007 as part of the box set The Ike & Tina Turner Story and in 2018 as a mini LP replica with a cardboard sleeve in Japan.

Producer: Ike Turner
Design: Ron Wolin
PhotographerEd Caraeff
Release: July 1969 / 2007, 2018 (CD)
Label: Minit, United Artists / TimeLife (CD)
Format: Vinyl / Cartridge / CD
Charts: USA: #19 (R&B)

    Side A
  1. D.J. Bob Jones - MC 1:01
  2. Everyday People (Live) 3:05
  3. Written by Sylvester Stewart / Lead vocals by The Ikettes
  4. Medley (Live) 2:28
  5. Gimme Some Loving: Written by Steve Winwood, Muff Winwood / Sweet Soul Music: Written by Otis Redding, Arthur Conley, Sam Cooke
  6. Son Of A Preacher Man (Live) 2:40
  7. Written by John Hurley, Ronnie Wilkins
  8. I Heard It Through The Grapevine (Live) 3:30
  9. Written by Norman Whitfield, Barrett Strong
  10. Respect (Live) 8:13
  11. Written by Otis Redding / Single in 1970
    Side B
  1. D.J. Herb Campbell - MC
  2. Medley (Live) 3:33
  3. There Was A Time: Written by James Brown, Buddy Hobgood / African Boo’s: Written by Ike Turner / Lead vocals by The Ikettes
  4. Funky Street (Live Instrumental) 1:56
  5. Written by Arthur Conley, Earl Simms
  6. A Fool In Love (Live) 3:11
  7. Written by Ike Turner
  8. Medley (Live) 11:26
  9. The Summit: Written by Ike Turner / All I could do was cry: Written by Gordy, David, Gordy Jr. / Please, Please, Please: Written by Brown, Terry / Baby I love you: Written by Ronny Shanon
  10. Goodbye, So Long (Live) 3:17
  11. Written by Ike Turner
Ike & Tina Turner - In Person - Album

CashBox - June 14, 1969

Ike & Tina Turner, with some help from the Ikettes, kick oll their new association with Minit with a powerful in-person set recorded live at San Franciscos Basin Street West. Tina sings soulfully on such recent hits as „Son Of A Preacher Man,“ „I Heard It Through The Grapevine,“ „Respect,“ „Sweet Soul Music,“ „Funky Street“ and a total soul medley. The Ikettes carry the ball on „Everyday People,“ „A Fool In Love“ and a soul dance medley. Set is already on the chart.

Previous: Outta Season (1969)

Back to: Albums

Next: Greatest Hits (1969)