IKE & TINA: Album (Live)

The World of Ike & Tina (1973)

Ike & Tina Turner - The World of Ike & Tina - Album

The World of Ike & Tina is a live album, recorded at several locations during Ike & Tina’s 1973 European tour in England, France, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Switzerland, Austria, Belgium and Holland. It was originally released in 1973 with a gatefold cover and was reissued in 1986 on two separate records with a different cover, only titled Live. In 2018 it was issued on CD with the original cover art, including extensive liner notes by Charles Waring. This album is the only release with a recording of the song „Stand By Me“.

Producer: Ike Turner, Jackie Clark, Soko Richardson, Warren Dawson
DesignMike Salisbury
Cover: Doug Johnson
Release: September 1973 / Various (Reissue)
Label: United Artists / Various (Reissue)
Format: 2 Vinyl (Gatefold) / Cartridge / CD
Charts: USA: #47 (R&B)

    Side A
  1. Theme From Shaft (Live Instrumental) 5:25
  2. Written by I. Hayes
  3. I Gotcha (Live) 4:05
  4. Written by J. Tex / Lead vocals by The Ikettes
  5. Intro To Tina 1:12
  6. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window (Live) 2:12
  7. Written by John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  8. You’re Still My Baby (Live) 3:07
  9. Written by Willis
  10. Don’t Fight It (Live) 2:31
  11. Written by W. Picket, S. Cropper
    Side B
  1. Annie Had A Baby (Live) 3:10
  2. Written by H. Glover, L. Mann
  3. With A Little Help From My Friends (Live) 2:58
  4. Written by John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  5. Get Back (Live) 3:11
  6. Written by John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  7. Games People Play (Live) 3:13
  8. Written by J. South
  9. Honky Tonk Women (Live) 3:09
  10. Written by Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
    Side C
  1. If You Love Me Like You Say (Live) 3:36
  2. Written by Ike Turner / Lead vocals by Ike Turner
  3. I Can’t Turn You Loose (Live) 2:50
  4. Written by Otis Redding
  5. I Wish It Would Rain (Live) 3:17
  6. Written by N. Whitfield, B. Strong
  7. Just One More Day (Live) 3:28
  8. Written by Otis Redding, S. Cropper, M. Robinson
  9. Stand By Me (Live) 3:57
  10. Written by B.B. King, E. Glick
    Side D
  1. Dust My Broom (Live) 3:25
  2. Written by E. James / Lead vocals by Ike Turner
  3. River Deep, Mountain High (Live) 2:19
  4. Written by Phil Spector, Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich
  5. Let Me Touch Your Mind (Live) 4:03
  6. Written by Oliver Sain
  7. Chopper (Live) 3:02
  8. Written by Tina Turner
  9. Land Of 1.000 Dances (Live) 4:41
  10. Written by Chris Kenner
Ike & Tina Turner - The World of Ike & Tina - Album

Billboard - September 08, 1973

The special magic of the Ike and Tina Turner Show always seems to shine through best on their 'live' outings, where crowd response can be heard and the team can make improvisations. Ike and Tina are a highly visual as well as musical act, and their impact is stronger on sets such as this. In this double set, Tina is as strong and lusty voiced as ever. The band is tight and Ike contributes strongly with his vocals and arrangements. Material has also been chosen well, from the rock of the Beatles and Stones to the hard r&b of Hank Ballard to the straight blues of Elmore James to Turner originals. Also included is the song many feel was the greatest rock production of it’s day, „River Deep, Mountain High.“

Previous: The Best of Ike and Tina (1973)

Back to: Albums

Next: Nutbush City Limits (1973)