IKE & TINA: Song

Ooh Poo Pah Doo

is a R&B song, written and first released by Jessie Hill in 1960. Ike & Tina Turner recorded a live version under the slightly different title Ooh Poop A Doo for the album The Ike & Tina Turner Show (Vol. 2) and released it as a single in 1964. For their longplayer Workin’ Together in 1970, they recorded a studio version and released it as the follow-up to their hit single Proud Mary, promoted from Tina with Neil Sedaka at the TV-Show Shindig!. The duo performed the track also live in their concerts, available on vinyl and home video.

Writer: Jesse Hill
Producer: Ike Turner
Album: Show Live (Vol. 2) (1965) / Workin' Together (1970) / What You Hear Is What You Get (1971) / Soul To Soul (1971) / Live In '71 (2004)
Single: Ooh Poop A Doo (1964) / Ooh Poo Pah Doo (1971)
Video: Live In '71 (2004)
Charts (1971): USA: #31 (R&B), #60 (Pop)

  1. Ooh Poop A Doo 2:48
  2. From the 1964 single release
  3. Ooh Poo Pah Doo 3:36
  4. From the album 'Workin' Together'
  5. Ooh Poo Pah Doo (Edit) 3:00
  6. From the 1971 single release
  7. Ooh Poo Pah Doo (Live) 3:32
  8. From the album 'The Ike & Tina Turner Show (Vol. 2)' with recordings from the Skyliner Ballroom (Fort Worth, Texas) and the Lovall's Ballroom (Dallas, Texas)
  9. Ooh Poo Pah Doo (Live) 3:29
  10. From the album 'What You Hear Is What You Get' with a concert at the Carnegie Hall in New York City on April 1, 1971
  11. Ooh Poo Pah Doo (Live) 3:20
  12. From the album 'Soul To Soul' with a concert at the Black Star Square in Accra (Ghana) on March 6, 1971
  13. Ooh Poo Pah Doo (Live) 2:59
  14. From the album 'Live In 71' with a concert at the Kurhaus in Scheveningen, Netherlands on February 11, 1971

Previous: Oneness

Back to: Songs

Next: Open Arms