TINA: Live (Tour)

Break Every Rule (1987 / '88)

Tina Turner - Break Every Rule - Tour

The Break Every Rule Tour was billed as Tina’s farewell tour, sponsored by Pepsi-Cola. It broke box office records in 13 countries and was the biggest tour by attendance for a female artist with over 4 million visitors until Tina broke her own record in 1996 with her Wildest Dreams Tour.

During the first few shows, Tina’s signature song Proud Mary wasn’t on the setlist. Tina avoided it because she had done it so many times for so many years and was a little bit tired of it. Finally in Rotterdam she agreed to try it, just to see how it would work. As the crowd erupted and sang the whole song, Tina realized that 'Mary' is still rollin' on the river.

On January 16, Tina broke the world record for the largest paying audience at a solo concert with a crowd over 182,000 people at the Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro. Parts of this concert were later released on the Rio '88 home video.

Tina did a lot of duets on this tour: At London’s Wembley Arena, she performed with Eric Clapton and Robert Cray, who was also the opening act at some dates. With Paul Brady, she did Paradise Is Here on May 30, 1987 at the Royal Dublin Showgrounds. In Osaka, Mick Jagger joined Tina on stage with the duet „Honky Tonk Women,“ after she was four days earlier guest on Mick's „Tour of Japan“ in Tokyo, where both performed the songs „Brown Sugar“ and „It’s Only Rock’n Roll“. This concert is available on the From Far East To Down Under bootleg.

For promotion, Pepsi released a special version of the Break Every Rule album with a wonderful gatefold cover, featuring pictures from the advertising We Got The Taste.

Opening Night: March 4, 1987 / Munich, Olympiahalle (Germany)
Closing Night: March 27, 1988 / Osaka (Japan)
Regions: Europe, North America, South America, Asia, Australia 
Concerts: 200+
: 4 Mio.
Home Video
Live In Rio (1988)
Opening Acts: Level 42, Wang Chung (North America) / Glass Tiger (Germany) / Marshall Crenshaw (Canada)

Tina Turner - Break Every Rule - Tour
  1. What You Get Is What You See
  2. Break Every Rule
  3. I Can’t Stand The Rain
  4. Typical Male
  5. Acid Queen
  6. or
  7. Girl's
  8. Two People
  9. Back Where You Started
  10. Better Be Good To Me
  11. Addicted To Love
  12. Private Dancer
  13. We Don’t Need Another Hero
  14. What’s Love Got To Do with It
  15. Help
  16. Let’s Stay Together
  17. Proud Mary
  18. Tina performed 'Proud Mary' for the first time in Rotterdam
  19. Show Some Respect
  20. or
  21. Steel Claw
  22. It’s Only Love
  23. Tina & John Miles
  24. Overnight Sensation
  25. Sometimes
  26. Nutbush City Limits
  27. Paradise Is Here

    Special songs
  1. Tearing Us Apart
  2. Tina & Eric Clapton in London on June 17, 1987
  3. A Change Is Gonna Come
  4. Tina & Robert Cray
  5. In The Midnight Hour
  6. Tina & Robert Cray
  7. Paradise Is Here
  8. Tina & Paul Brady
  9. Honky Tonk Women
  10. Tina & Mick Jagger in Osaka
Tina Turner - Break Every Rule - Tour

The 36-page program book was in most countries the same. The only difference were the tour dates, which changed between the regions. It contains no live pictures from the tour, only from the Break Every Rule TV-Special, which was released just in time for the tour as well as many promotional pictures and stills from the recent music videos. But at least in South America, especially in Argentia, an „Official Book Argentina“ was available including Tina’s story, infos about the tour, some promo pictures and a lot of advertising.

Tina Turner - Break Every Rule Tour - Band

Deric Dyer: Saxophone, Keyboard / Don Snow: Keyboard, Saxophone, Vocals / James Ralston: Guitar, Vocals / Steve Scales: Percussion / Bob Feit: Guitar, Vocals / John Miles: Keyboard, Guitar, Vocals / Jack Bruno: Drums / Laurie Wisefield: Guitar/ Ollie Marland: Keyboard, Vocals

Previous: Prince's Trust (1986)

Back to: Live

Next: Foreign Affair Tour (1990)